Senate Screens 14 Ministerial Nominees Today

Senate President, GodsWill Akpabio has started screening the remaining ministerial nominees.

1st August 2023 02:55 PM

The Senate has started screening the remaining 14 ministerial nominees.

The immediate past governor of Ebonyi State and senator representing Ebonyi South, Dave Umahi, took a bow before the Senate when he appeared before the lawmakers for his ministerial role.

Senator Umahi was the first to stand before the Senate among the 14 nominees listed for screening Tuesday.

He said, “My distinguished colleagues, let me first thank God for the journey of my life and thank Mr President for nominating me as a minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“Let me also thank the Senate President, Deputy Senate President, and the entire leadership as well as the 10th Senate for their cooperation and the working relationship I have enjoyed.

“Let me thank you highly for a very united Senate. In these few months I have stayed in the Senate, you have made sure that there is no partisan politics in the Senate.”

Earlier, the Senate President, GodsWill Akpabio, quoted Order 52 of the Senate Standing Orders, which says a Senator …shall not read his speech except if he is moving for a bill or motion.”

Akpabio said, “When a senator appears before the Senate, he shall not read his achievement.

“When a senator is a principal officer, he shall appear, take a bow and resume back to his seat until the day he is sworn into office.”

Umahi, thereafter, went back to his seat after bowing before the Senate.

Senate President, GodsWill Akpabio,  had last week Thursday unveiled the 28 ministerial nominees sent by President Bola Tinubu.

Amongst those to be screened are Former Kaduna governor, Nasir El-Rufai  (Kaduna); the Special Adviser to the President, Special Duties, Communications, and Strategy, Dele Alake (Ekiti); former Minister of Health, Ali Pate.

See Full List

David Umahi (Ebonyi);

Adebayo Olawale Edun (Ogun);

Nasir  El-rufai CON (Kaduna);

Ahmed Musa Dangiwa (Katsina)

Chief Uche Geoffrey Nnaji (Enugu);

Stella Okotete (Delta);

Dele Alake (Ekiti);

Adebayo Adelabu (Oyo);

Muhammad Idris (Niger);

Professor Ali Pate Bauchi;

Doris Anite Uzoka (Imo);

Lateef Fagbemi SAN (Kwara);

Hon. Ekperikpe Ekpo (Akwa Ibom);

Barr Hannatu Musawa (Katsina)

Access24 reports that 14 out of the 28 nominees appeared before the Senate for screening.