CJN Swears In 39 More Judges For 2023 Election Petitions

Thirty-Nine Additional Judges Have Been Swore In, To Man The Election Petition Tribunal.

04:30 PM WAT, Thu May 25, 2023

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, has swore in 39 additional judges to man the election petition tribunals currently sitting across the federation.

Justice Ariwooola during the ceremony that took place at the Supreme Court in Abuja, revealed that the judges were found worthy to be appointed as additional members of tribunals that have been saddled with responsibility of trailing the 2023 general election.

Administering the oath on the newly appointed election petition tribunal judges, the CJN, instructed them to live above board and submit to the sanctity of the rule of law in the discharge of their judicial functions.

Stressing that the country needs peace “at this crucial phase”, he admonished them not to allow sentiment and public opinion to betray their sense of judgment.

He said, “You have just taken an oath that has not only imposed a course of upright moral undertaking on you but equally looped you with destiny.”

“This is an enormous national assignment that will literally put the contents of your conscience to the test.”

“No amount of homily can convey the enormity of this task. But suffice it to say that you are already initiating an interaction with history. Whatever action or inaction you exhibit today will serve as your testament In the annals of the Nigerian judiciary.